Posted in tofu, Vegan Blog

Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

I finally mustered up some gumption yesterday and finally tried a smoothie made with silken tofu. Though I have no pics, I can honestly say, IT WAS DELCIOUS!

The weather around here has been typical bipolar Adirondack weather. Sunny one day, snow the next, rain and repeat. It has been damp and dreary and Mother Nature cannot decide whether it’s Winter or Spring (let’s call it Sprinter!) which in turn can also dampen one’s mood (we’ll call this ailment, “Cabin Fever”. One of my favorite things to have during the autumn when the weather is supposed to be like this, is anything pumpkin. I love pumpkin and all the spices that go along with it! I call them the “feel good” spices, since they make me feel good when I eat/drink them.

Since becoming vegan, I have been wanting to try silken tofu in a smoothie but I’ve been too chicken. Tofu is still a new and weird thing to me and I’ve only had it a few times. My philosophy about smoothies is, be easier, the better. There’s no draining silken tofu for smoothies, so that makes for less time (generally, you drain tofu for about an hour before preparing it) and less effort.

I have been craving pie, specifically, pumpkin pie. I had a can of pumpkin in my pantry, next to a can of sweet potatoes, so I thought, “Why not?!” In my blender, I mixed one cup each of the pumpkin, sweet potatoes, silken tofu and frozen mixed berry blend (blueberries, strawberries and bananas),  with some allspice, clove, nutmeg, and cinnamon.

I was nervous and hesitant to take my first sip. The color was kinda bluish from the berries. It looked and almost had the consistency of a pudding (which gave me future ideas for when I get brave enough to actually try to bake a pie) but as soon as creamy smoothiness of it all hit my palette, I was transported back to autumn! It was creamy and spicy with all that autumn wholesomeness you would expect. I’m not a seasonalist at all, I’ll eat pumpkin things all year round! This smoothie would be just as refreshing on a hot summer day as it would next to an open fire! Next time I make it, I’m going to replace the berries with banana and tweak out the spices a bit (I think I went a little too heavy with the Allspice this time around!).

Leave a Reply

