Posted in Diary of a Rose, Flower photography, Photography, Plant Life

Diary of a Rose: First Entry

 

doar_034

23rd March, 2016

Dear Diary,

It is kinda lonely being the only rose here on the bush. The Caretaker is always fussing over me since she brought me home from the store a few weeks ago. The Minion Caretaker made a mess of me a couple times and almost totally uprooted me but Caretaker saved me. She repotted me and pruned me back a bit and now there are so many new buds forming. Soon I shall have company!

It is a dreary day today. The Caretaker took my picture so that she could use it as a Photo of the Day submission on the NCPR website. Lily was featured as Photo of the Day yesterday and The Caretaker was quite pleased. She entered my picture today to NCPR. Caretaker may say how pretty Lily makes the room smell, but I know she thinks I make the room look prettier. She is always showing me off to anyone that comes over, bragging about how pretty I am. I may not be as fragrant as Lily, but I sure dazzle the eyes!

I love my new home and all of the attention I get. I get to enjoy the company of a few other plants while sunning myself all day. Since being repotted my branches have stretched right out and before long there won’t be room for many of the other plants without me touching them. From what I hear, a couple of the plants, the Kalenchoes, will be going into dormancy soon, leaving plenty of room for me on the cabinet!

 

2 thoughts on “Diary of a Rose: First Entry

  1. I lucked out in this shot getting the background LOL! If you want a black background, you could cover a box with some black fabric draped over it and shoot your pic against that. Light Room is also good for being able to blacken up the background by turning the shadows down. I also find that when I use my flash indoors, it tends to blacken up the background while showcasing the subject in the foreground. If spring doesn’t hurry up and get here so that I can do my outdoor photography, I’m afraid that I’m gonna have thousands of pics of my own flowers indoors LOL!

    Like

Leave a Reply

