Posted in Uncategorized

A Thought
by JKulo

As I was sitting there, in my favorite spot, in my favorite chair,
a thought crept into my head and I wondered if I dared;
to think that creeping thought that blankened my blue-eyed stare.
A reverie then came over me and swallowed up my despair.
Then the thought, it became a plot,
and I pondered it more and more-
but as quickly as it came to me,
the thought flew out the door!

Thoughts come and go and evade us and invade us on their own whims. They don’t care what time of day it is or what we are doing, or even if we are paying attention. Thoughts pay no mind, just as sometimes, the mind don’t pay the thoughts. I guess you could say, that thoughts have a mind of their own, and that we should embrace the rarity of being able to grasp onto one once in a while.

To a writer it can be an absolute hell to think up a fleeting idea and lose it as soon as it has been thought of. I have learned to always have a pen and some sort of notebook to jot down quick notes about such fleeting thoughts and ideas. Unfortunately in my case, a lot of ideas come to me for plots while I am dreaming. I am still trying to figure out some kind of sleep gadget that can catch my thoughts while I am sleeping, because it is just not practical to get up, turn a light on and get my pen and paper to jot the idea down. By the time I would have gotten up and blindly reached in the dark for the string to turn on my light, the thought would be gone! I could only ever dream of having such an awesome at my own writer’s will…for now, I’ll have to do it the old fashioned way and jot down the few things that I remember while I am awake!

Leave a Reply

